March Patron Update: New/Revised Queer Can Lit Links Page and More & More Free Queer Books

Hi queer book nerds!

I hope it feels like spring time wherever you are, since I’m still suffering in cold rainy weather on the west coast where usually spring starts in like February. This is a belated update for the month of March on Patreon as things were pretty bananas for me ending the school semester. If you’re a patron, check your email, as I just sent out emails to March’s winners of a queer book and a postcard with a personalized book recommendation. (If you don’t know what on earth I’m talking about with this Patreon thing, have a look at the recap from the first month where I explain about signing up on this platform to support me doing this blog. Or, you can go directly to my Patreon page to see what it’s all about, including what rewards are available).

These are the books up for grabs this month for the winner of the draw. Which one would you pick?

IMG_20170412_155815

I’m pretty excited to announce that I met another goal this month, which was my $75 goal! Thanks so much to all my new patrons and welcome if you’re a new reader of this blog. This means I’m going to do two things this month: clean up and update my page called Queer Can Lit Links so that it is the current, inclusive resource on Canadian and/or Indigenous LGBTQ2IA+ books and get my own domain name (this means that pesky .wordpress part of my current url will be gone!). What goal should I set next? What things would you like to see improved on my site? Or there any side related projects you’d like me to think about? Any thoughts are welcome. I honestly was not expecting to reach $75 so soon, so I’m a bit stumped on where I should go from here.

I hope you all enjoyed the March content! I reviewed two really amazing books that I LOVED by Canadian trans women writers—Next Year For Sure by Zoey Leigh Peterson and A Place Called NO HOMELAND by Kai Cheng Thom—and I also published a few different kinds of posts. One was about a special call for submissions by queer, trans, and social justice oriented writers to Montreal’s Metonymy Press. If you’re not already reading authors published by Metonymy, you should also check out that post since it introduces some really great queer Canadian books and writers. I also wrote about the really troublesome transmisogynist and anti-sex work Vancouver Women’s Library which is the only post I’ve ever written that has brought out the TERF commenters. Clearly those people had never read anything else on my website, otherwise they would not have been surprised at my stance on trans-exclusive feminism.

And as always I want to individually thank all of the people who’ve signed up so far to be patrons. You lovely humans are: Danika, Leigh, Anna Marie, Kim, Jane, Jakelene, Emmet, Madeline, Heather, Rhiannon, Carla, Naz, Laurita, Kirsten, Ashleah, Jason, Jillian, Anton, Shelagh, Priscila, Allison, Zaza, Ang, James, Seed, Rachael, and Julie! If any of you new (or old) folks are interested in being a part of the Interview with a Queer Reader series, write me at stepaniukcasey [at] gmail.com.

About CaseytheCanadianLesbrarian

Known in some internet circles as Casey the Canadian Lesbrarian, Casey Stepaniuk is a writer and librarian who holds an MA in English literature. She lives and works in the unceded territory of the Snuneymuxw First Nation (Nanaimo, BC). Topics and activities dear to her heart include cats, bisexuality, libraries, queer (Canadian) literature, running, and drinking tea. She runs the website Casey the Canadian Lesbrarian, where you can find reviews of LGBTQ2IA+ Canadian books, archives of the book advice column Ask Your Friendly Neighbourhood Lesbrarian, and some other queer, bookish stuff. She also writes for Autostraddle. Find her on Twitter: @canlesbrarian. Some of her old reviews, especially the non-Canadian variety, can be found at the Lesbrary.
This entry was posted in Patreon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to March Patron Update: New/Revised Queer Can Lit Links Page and More & More Free Queer Books

  1. Pingback: Link Round Up: April 13 – 26 | The Lesbrary

Comments are closed.